Red Bear Angels Team Member

Leland Pillsbury


Leland C. Pillsbury cofounded Thayer Lodging Group Inc. in 1991 and served as Co-Chairman and CEO until May of 2014 when it was sold to Brookfield Asset Management. He now  serves as Chairman, Thayer Lodging Group, a Brookfield Company.

Prior to launching Thayer, he spent 19 years at Marriott, where he became an Executive Vice President and Corporate Officer. While with Marriott, he revamped Marriott’s pricing strategies, created the industry’s first revenue and yield management systems, and led the company’s entry into time sharing, Fairfield Inns, and Residence Inns. Since leaving Marriott, he has played a major role in the launch of numerous new companies in the hospitality value chain, including internet services provider TIG Global, Chinese central reservations system innovator HUBS1, and hypoallergenic guest room provider PURE Solutions.

Pillsbury is a graduate of the Cornell University School of Hotel Administration and is a member of the Cornell University Board of Trustees. He serves as Vice Chairman of the Investment Committee that oversees Cornell’s $5.2 billion endowment and is a member of several other standing committees of the Board. He is a member of the School of Hotel Administration Dean’s Advisory Board and the Real Estate Council.  Pillsbury has recently been named a Frank H.T. Rhodes Class of 1956 Visiting Professor and lectures frequently at Cornell’s seven undergraduate schools and the Johnson Graduate School of Business.  He and his wife, Mary, endowed the Pillsbury Institute for Hospitality Entrepreneurship at the Hotel School and were named Cornell Foremost Benefactors.

Pillsbury is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Board at the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University, from which he received his MBA in 1982. The Kellogg School recognized him with the 2009 Schaffner Award, recognizing professional achievement and contribution to the school.

He recently received the 2012 Far and Above Award for his philanthropic work, and in 2010 received the Pioneer Award from the International Society of Hospitality Consultants, recognizing his dynamic contributions in the hospitality industry.